Books


Since leaving Montreal a month ago I have found myself with a little more spare time to devote to reading. Along with a couple of guide books on Paris & Burkina Faso I have been able to finish the following somewhat random/eclectic collection of books:

  1. Charles Dickens’s Bleak house – his 9th novel following the long running Jamdyce and Jamdyce litigation and its trials and misfortunes at the Court of Chancery.
  2. Sinclair Lewis’s 1920s satire of American culture, Babbitt .
  3. My first Marian Keys novel, The Other Side of the Story, as I was curious to see what her novels and writing style was like.
  4. After having read Mysterious Islands and Around the World in 80 Days earlier this year I devoured another Jules Verne’s classic tale – 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea
  5. And last but by no means least, Oryx and Crake by Margret Atwood.  After having recently read my first Atwood novel, The Handmaids Tale, I was intrigued to read another.

I have just started Three Cups of Tea which appears, so far, to be a captivating read about:

“One Man’s Mission to Promote Peace…One School at a Time”

p.s. If anyone has any reading recommendations please let me know as I am sure I will have time to finish a few more books over the coming months.

6 responses to “Books

  1. Hey Melissa, I read a John Grisham recently….and easy ready and always a good law related read. Also if you haven’t read either…..Eat, Love, Pray by Elizabeth Gilbert

    • Thanks Olivia, I might give a John Grisham a try as I do not think I have read any of his books. I did read Eat, Love, Pray a while ago before I found out it was going to made into a film as well.

  2. Hi Melissa,

    I’m struggling through The Handmaid’s Tale at the moment. The writing is brilliant but nothing is happening! I’m finding myself as bored as the central character. If things don’t start to happen in the next 100 pages, I’m going to abandon it.

    Good luck settling into your new life. I’d love to see some photos of Burkina Faso, your accommodation, etc.

  3. Hi Mark, I think I remember also being quite bored & wishing something would happen at some stage while reading it too. However, by the end I was really impressed with her writing style and the story enough that I was ready to read another (Oryx & Crake), which I enjoyed a lot more as far as the story side of it went.

    Photos are coming ….. unfortunately its a very very slow process as it takes about 30 mins if I am lucky per photo to upload ;(

  4. Hi Melissa

    Thinking about you. Sounds like you are having an adventure. I am still in Vancouver.

    Kind regards

    Gurmeet

    • Hi Gurmeet,

      Great to hear from you. I hope all is well in Vancouver. Seasons greeting & all the best for the new year and I hope it brings and interesting mandate for you (if you have not already departed on one that is!)

      take care
      Melissa

Leave a Reply

