Daily Archives: September 23, 2010

Books

Since leaving Montreal a month ago I have found myself with a little more spare time to devote to reading. Along with a couple of guide books on Paris & Burkina Faso I have been able to finish the following somewhat random/eclectic collection of books:

  1. Charles Dickens’s Bleak house – his 9th novel following the long running Jamdyce and Jamdyce litigation and its trials and misfortunes at the Court of Chancery.
  2. Sinclair Lewis’s 1920s satire of American culture, Babbitt .
  3. My first Marian Keys novel, The Other Side of the Story, as I was curious to see what her novels and writing style was like.
  4. After having read Mysterious Islands and Around the World in 80 Days earlier this year I devoured another Jules Verne’s classic tale – 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea
  5. And last but by no means least, Oryx and Crake by Margret Atwood.  After having recently read my first Atwood novel, The Handmaids Tale, I was intrigued to read another.

I have just started Three Cups of Tea which appears, so far, to be a captivating read about:

“One Man’s Mission to Promote Peace…One School at a Time”

p.s. If anyone has any reading recommendations please let me know as I am sure I will have time to finish a few more books over the coming months.